Home » BIM and Building Design » BIM Maturity Level 1

BIM maturity Levels

BIM Maturity Level 1

What is BIM maturity level 1, what does it involve and which requirements need to be met for optimising workflows?

What are the different BIM digital maturity levels? What is BIM Level 1 and what are the main requirements ?

First of all, let’s see the provisions of BIM maturity level 1 and the definitions of each level ranging from 0 to 3.

If you’re interested in BIM and collaborative working, I suggest you try usBIM, the free and completely online collaborative platform for working with the most advanced and complete set of BIM tools.

BIM maturity levels

To begin with, I just wanted to remind you that BIM maturity levels specify the technological progress achieved in the AEC sector according to the different degrees of collaboration and information sharing between different project stakeholders.

It starts from a basic level (L0) where there is no collaboration at all in relation to data exchanges during the execution of work activities and proceeds across to level (L3) which adds seamless integration of information and the use of cloud-based BIM models and data sharing.

BIM levels are defined slightly differently in relation to the different regulations.

BIM Level 2

BIM maturity levels – the evolution from PAS to ISO

In detail, PAS 1192 introduces 4 levels of digital maturity:

  • L0 – low collaboration – used when project drawings are created in 2 dimensions with either Computer Aided Design (CAD) Software or directly on paper;
  • L1 – partial collaboration – when construction drawings are created in 2 or 3 dimensions using 3D Computer Aided Design Software with digital files;
  • L2 – full collaboration – when all design and modelling operations are carried out in 3 dimensions
  • L3 – full integration.
BIM level 0 - 4 levels of BIM maturity

The 4 levels of BIM maturity

Currently the indications of PAS 1192 have been exceeded and absorbed by ISO 19650, which introduces 3 levels of BIM maturity:

  • stage 1 – 2D CAD documents and information models are combined, in compliance with national regulatory requirements, for works project management;
  • stage 2 – the disciplinary, federated information models, complying with international ISO 19650 standards, guarantee the integrated management of the project;
  • stage 3 – the structured database systems of the information models, that can be queried at any time, allow OPEN BIM procedures to be imposed as a project management system and subsequent commissioning.

Although we use the definition of BIM Levels (or Levels of BIM 0, 1, 2 and 3), it would be more appropriate to refer to stages (1, 2 and 3).

To learn more about these different BIM maturity levels, you can also read this interesting article “BIM maturity levels from stage 0 to 3“.

Let’s look more specifically at what the BIM digital maturity level 1 provides.

Level 1 BIM

BIM digital maturity level 1 requires the use of 2D and 3D CAD technologies and a Common Data Environment (CDE), the shared online repository where all project data is collected and managed.

More specifically, the use of 3D CAD tools is reserved for the design phase, while 2D is used for documentation and information management. Furthermore, despite the presence of a common data environment (CDE), at this stage, generated models are not shared between the different design disciplines and project stakeholders.

In practice, level 1 is a step up from the more basic level L0, which does not involve collaborative exchanges of information, but is still far from a fully BIM oriented approach.

Currently, L1 is the most popular level of collaboration among AEC sector professionals and companies that have already gone to the next level of digital collaborative workflows but have not yet approached BIM.

BIM maturity Level 1 is illustrated in the Bew-Richards diagram below.

livelli di maturità BIM

Bew-Richards – BIM maturity levels

Regardless of BIM maturity levels, it is always important to adopt a conscious and holistic process management approach. The adoption of standards and norms that set out the requirements that need to be followed, ensures accountability and proper management of information systems, data exchanges, collaboration, etc.

Any project will benefit from having well-planned and implemented project management systems with sharing and collaboration methods and tools.

Let’s take a closer look at the requirements to be considered for BIM maturity level 1.

The requirements of BIM Maturity Level 1

To satisfy the requirements of BIM maturity level 1, these basic workflows and processes need to be addressed:

  • agreeing on roles and responsibilities;
  • adopting naming and file storage conventions;
  • specifying and determing the project elevation and spatial coordination system;
  • using a ‘Common Data Environment’ (CDE) for managing shared documents and information among all project team members;
  • establishing an appropriate information hierarchy to structure the CDE.

The above requirements are also set out and detailed in two British standards: BS 1192 and PAS 1192.

Particularly, BIM Level 1 is fully defined by BS 1192 which includes the following requirements:

  • BS 7000-4 – Design management;
  • BS 8541-2 – Recommendations about 2D symbols to use with building elements;
  • ISO 12006-2 – Information classification in construction;
  • BS EN ISO 13567-1, 13567-2 – CAD overview, codes, and formats used in the construction documentation.

At the heart of the BIM Level 1 process, are the principles for collaboration set out in BS 1192:2007 that assume the use of standard methods and procedures (such as a Common Data Environment approach, defined naming conventions, etc.). Observing this standard also becomes mandatory in a BIM Level 1 working environment.

Other standards, such as BS 8536 and PAS 1192-5, on the other hand, presuppose the transition to BIM Level 2.